Traces of History: Neuengamme Concentration Camp 1938–1945 and its Post-War History

Here you will find information from the main exhibition, “Traces of History”. In addition to text, each page contains links to supplementary reading material and other media at the Learning Center. Certain films and other digital media can be opened and watched on the computer.

A visitor is reading a portfolio with deepening information in the main exhibition.
The Camp 1938 until 1945

Neuengamme concentration camp was founded in 1938 as a satellite camp of Sachsenhausen concentration camp and became an independent camp in spring 1940. The prisoners were to produce bricks for the large-scale Nazi buildings in Hamburg. The first prisoners came from Sachsenhausen, the first guards from Buchenwald. In 1940/41 the prisoners' camp was built in barracks, and from 1943 to 1945 it was also extended with solid stone buildings.

The different Groups of Prisoners – Europe in Neuengamme

Neuengamme concentration camp held fewer groups of German prisoners and mainly people from the occupied countries of Europe. The proportion of foreign prisoners was 90%. From 1942 onwards, forced laborers arrested in Germany were increasingly sent to Neuengamme concentration camp. In the last year of the war, the number of admissions rose to over 50,000. Well over half of them came from Eastern Europe, but French, Dutch, Belgians and Danes also made up large national prisoner groups.

Work and Everyday Life

The SS treated newly arrived prisoners with particular brutality so as to break their spirit and demoralise them immediately after their arrival. Life at the camp was determined by a huge number of rules and regulations which were almost impossible to abide by. Prisoners who were caught in breach of these rules not only received the official forms of punishment at the camp.

Cultural and Resistance Activities – Maintaining the Will to Survive

In their daily struggle for survival, prisoners clung to friendships and relationships in small groups. Intellectual and religious activities helped them to maintain their will to survive, as did the rare opportunities for cultural activities like drawing, woodcarving, talking about literature and reciting poetry or songs. In 1943/44, music, football, and evenings of entertainment were occasionally permitted, but only higher-ranking prisoners were allowed to attend such events.

Extermination and Death

At the Neuengamme Concentration Camp, most of the prisoners died of hunger and cold, inadequate housing and hygiene, mistreatment, and overexerting labor. In 1942, the SS introduced public hangings as a punishment in the camp. The police and judiciary also used the concentration camp as a place of execution. The dead were usually burned. Initially, this was done in the municipal crematorium at the Ohlsdorf cemetery. From 1942, Neuengamme concentration camp had its own crematorium.

The Satellite Camps

From 1942, the Ministry of Armament and the armaments industry increasingly demanded the use of concentration camp prisoners as laborers. This led to the establishment of a large number of satellite camps in the vicinity of production and construction sites, most of which were set up during the last year of the war. By 1945, Neuengamme concentration camp had 87 satellite camps in northern Germany.

The End

Starting during the summer of 1944, the SS began to clear out concentration camps near the front. The prisoners and production facilities important to the war were moved to the interior of the Reich, where numerous new subcamps were built. When the concentration camps in the interior of the Reich were also evacuated in the spring of 1945, there were hardly any alternative camps left. Nevertheless, the SS tried to keep the prisoners under their control for as long as possible.

Life after Liberation

Survivors experienced their liberation from the concentration camps in different ways. Many of them were in poor health due to the conditions of their imprisonment and had to be treated in hospitals. Those who had been deported to Germany were classified as “Displaced Persons” and put up in special camps before they could be repatriated. But not all of them wanted to go back. Many survivors wanted to emigrate to the USA or to Palestine, and some even wanted to remain in Germany.

The Subsequent Use of the Grounds

On the evening of May 2, 1945, British soldiers reached the Neuengamme concentration camp. In the same month, former Soviet forced laborers from the Hamburg area were housed and cared for there. At the same time, German prisoners of war were assigned to other parts of the camp. Interned Waffen-SS members and civilians were added. In 1948 the city of Hamburg took over the British internment camp and used the site for penal facilities.

Forms of Commemoration

Commemorating the dead of the concentration camps was a central concern in the first post-war years. Commemoration ceremonies at Ohlsdorf Cemetery were attended by up to 20,000 people. Party-political disputes during the Cold War marked the turning point of this commemorative practice in 1949. The former concentration camp grounds were inaccessible because of prison use. Only under pressure from abroad did the city of Hamburg erect a first memorial column there in 1953.

Media Library

The complete permanent exhibition "Time Traces" and the other side exhibitions on the grounds of the Neuengamme Concentration Camp Memorial are also available digitally in the memorial's media library. Unfortunately, the media library is only available in German.

media library
Contact us at

E-mail: lernwerkstatt@gedenkstaetten.hamburg.de

Phone: +49 40 428 131 551

Die Hauptausstellung „Zeitspuren“ der KZ-Gedenkstätte Neuengamme

Das KZ Neuengamme 1938 bis 1945 und seine Nachgeschichte

Hier finden sich die wichtigsten Themenbereiche aus der Hauptausstellung „Zeitspuren“. Die Texte sind ergänzt durch Fotos und Medienhinweise. Einige Medien können direkt am Rechner eingesehen werden, bei anderen ist eine Signatur angegeben. Diese analogen Medien befinden sich in der Bibliothek im hinteren Raum der Lernwerkstatt.

Das KZ Neuengamme 1938 - 1945

Das KZ Neuengamme wurde 1938 als Außenlager des KZ Sachsenhausen gegründet und im Frühjahr 1940 selbständig. Die Häftlinge sollten Ziegel für die NS Großbauten in Hamburg herstellen. Die ersten Häftlinge kamen aus Sachsenhausen, die ersten Wachposten aus Buchenwald. 1940/41 wurde in Barackenbauweise das Häftlingslager errichtet, das 1943 bis 1945 auch durch massive Steingebäude erweitert wurde. Angrenzend an das Häftlings- und das SS-Lager entstanden bis 1945 immer mehr Wirtschaftsbetriebe.

Die Häftlingsgruppen – Europa in Neuengamme

Im KZ Neuengamme waren weniger deutsche Häftlingsgruppen und überwiegend Menschen aus den besetzten Ländern Europas inhaftiert. Der Anteil der ausländischen Häftlinge betrug 90 %. Ab 1942 kamen zunehmend in Deutschland verhaftete Zwangsarbeiter*innen ins KZ Neuengamme. Im letzten Kriegsjahr stieg die Zahl der Einlieferungen auf über 50 000. Weit mehr als die Hälfte von ihnen kam aus Osteuropa, aber auch Franzosen, Niederländer, Belgier und Dänen stellten große nationale Häftlingsgruppen.

Alltag und Arbeit

Die SS empfing neue Häftlinge mit besonderer Brutalität, um sie bereits bei der Ankunft seelisch zu brechen und zu demoralisieren. Das Lagerleben wurde durch viele kaum einzuhaltende Ordnungsvorschriften reglementiert. Bei Verstößen drohten offizielle Lagerstrafen wie Torstehen und Arrest sowie willkürliche Misshandlungen. Die mangelhafte Ernährung und Kleidung führte bei den meisten Häftlingen zu raschem körperlichen Verfall. In den überfüllten Unterkünften gab es weder Privatsphäre noch Erholung.

Selbstbehauptung, Kultur und Widerstand

Im täglichen Existenzkampf suchten die Häftlinge Halt in Freundschaften. Geistige und religiöse Betätigungen waren Zeichen der Selbstbehauptung. Dies galt auch für die wenigen kulturellen Aktivitäten wie Zeichnen und Schnitzen, Gespräche über Literatur, Vortragen von Gedichten und Liedern. Auch Musik und Fußball waren 1943/44 zeitweise einigen besser gestellten Häftlingen gestattet. Der Empfang und der Versand Briefen waren nur begrenzt und unter Zensur gestattet.

Vernichtung und Tod

Im KZ Neuengamme starben die meisten Häftlinge durch Hunger und Kälte, mangelhafte Unterbringung und Hygiene, Misshandlungen und überanstrengende Arbeit. 1942 führte die SS im Lager öffentliche Erhängungen als Strafe ein. Auch Polizei und Justiz nutzten das KZ als Hinrichtungsstätte. Die Toten wurden in der Regel verbrannt. Anfangs geschah dies im städtischen Krematorium auf dem Ohlsdorfer Friedhof, ab 1942 verfügte das KZ Neuengamme über ein eigenes Krematorium.

Die Außenlager

Das Rüstungsministerium und die Industrie forderten ab 1942 verstärkt den Einsatz von KZ-Häftlingen als Arbeitskräfte. Daraufhin entstanden in der Nähe von Produktionsstätten und Baustellen zahlreiche Außenlager, die meisten im letzten Kriegsjahr. Bis 1945 existierten 87 Außenlager des KZ Neuengamme, in denen die KZ-Häftlinge für Wirtschaft, Wehrmacht, Staat und SS arbeiten mussten. Im März 1945 waren in den Außenlagern ca. 28.000 Männer und über 12.000 Frauen inhaftiert.

Das Ende

Ab Sommer 1944 begann die SS, frontnahe Konzentrationslager zu räumen. Die Häftlinge und kriegswichtige Produktionsanlagen wurden ins Reichsinnere verlegt, wo zahlreiche neue KZ-Außenlager entstanden. Als im Frühjahr 1945 auch die KZ im Reichsinnern geräumt wurden, standen kaum noch Ausweichlager zur Verfügung. Trotzdem versuchte die SS, die Häftlinge möglichst lange unter ihrer Kontrolle zu behalten. Die Auflösung des Neuengammer Lagerkomplexes begann am 24. März 1945.

Weiterleben nach der Befreiung

Die Befreiung aus den Konzentrationslagern erfuhren die Überlebenden auf unterschiedliche Weise. Viele litten an den Folgen der KZ-Haft und wurden in Krankenhäusern versorgt. Bevor die nach Deutschland Verschleppten in ihre Heimatländer zurückkehren konnten, wurden sie zunächst als „Displaced Persons“ in Lagern untergebracht. Viele Überlebende wollten in die USA oder nach Palästina emigrieren. Ehemalige Häftlinge bildeten Lagergemeinschaften und Verfolgtenverbände und forderten Entschädigung.

Nachnutzung des Geländes

Am Abend des 2. Mai 1945 erreichten britische Soldaten das KZ Neuengamme. Noch im selben Monat wurden ehemalige sowjetische Zwangsarbeiter*innen aus dem Hamburger Raum dort untergebracht und versorgt. Gleichzeitig wurden in andere Teile des Lagers deutsche Kriegsgefangene eingewiesen. Internierte Waffen-SS-Angehörige und Zivilist*innen kamen hinzu. 1948 übernahm die Stadt Hamburg das britische Internierungslager und nutzte das Gelände für den Strafvollzug.

Formen des Erinnerns

Das Gedenken an die Toten der Konzentrationslager war in den ersten Nachkriegsjahren ein zentrales Anliegen. Zu Gedenkfeiern auf dem Ohlsdorfer Friedhof kamen bis zu 20.000 Menschen. Parteipolitische Auseinandersetzungen im Kalten Krieg markierten 1949 den Wendepunkt dieser Gedenkpraxis. Das ehemalige KZ-Gelände war für Überlebende und Angehörige wegen der Gefängnisnutzung unzugänglich. Nur auf Druck aus dem Ausland errichtete die Stadt Hamburg dort 1953 eine erste schlichte Gedenksäule.

Übersicht zu den Ereignissen 1938-1945

Eine chronologische Übersicht über die wichtigsten Ereignisse im KZ Neuengamme von 1938 bis 1945.

virtuelle Ausstellungen

Die Hauptausstellung „Zeitspuren“ sowie die übrigen Ausstellungen der KZ-Gedenkstätte Neuengamme stehen auch in der Mediathek digital zur Verfügung.

zur Mediathek
Kontakt

E-Mail: lernwerkstatt@gedenkstaetten.hamburg.de
Telefon: +49 40 428 131 551