Escape Attempts, Solidarity and Resistance

Until the period immediately prior to its evacuation in April 1945, all escape attempts from the main camp had failed. By contrast, prisoners did manage to escape from satellite camps on several occasions, but most of them were recaptured later. Prisoners were forbidden to help each other on pain of punishment. But despite such regulations, prisoners tried to work to get her against the aims of the SS and tried to organise help for especially needy fellow prisoners such as the Soviet POWs who arrived at the camp in the autumn of 1941. Prisoners who worked at the sick-bay as doctors or nurses tried their best to help others. Some prisoner functionaries at the work deployment office tried to arrange better work places for prisoners who were especially weakened or otherwise threatened. 

“It was impossible [to escape]. For example I worked myself once as a glasser in a garden center and was guarded there by a SS man. I was supposed to insert a windowpane in a greenhouse. The SS man went away to the garden center owner's wife to flirt with her a bit. I could have escaped, but where to? For a Pole near Hamburg it was almost impossible to escape, because there was no chance of saving oneself.


Tadeusz Kwapinski, former prisoner from Poland, November, 1943, until May, 1945, KZ Neuengamme, survivor of “Cap Arcona”. Interview, August, 1984.

Pencil drawing of the bridge from a watchtower to the road to the Neuengamme concentration camp. There are eight guards on the bridge, four of them walking in a row, each with a guard dog.

 

 

Pencil drawing by Félix Lazare Bertrand “La parade des chiens 15.1.45 (“The Parade of the Dogs“). On the back he wrote “Return from excursion and practice for our four legged guard”. In the foreground on the left is the masonry of a watchtower, behind it a bridge to the Lagerstraße (today Jean-Dolidier-Weg). When trying to escape, the sharply trained dogs found prisoners in hiding places. Often they hurt them.

Media Library

The complete permanent exhibition "Time Traces" and the other side exhibitions on the grounds of the Neuengamme Concentration Camp Memorial are also available digitally in the memorial's media library. Unfortunately, the media library is only available in German.

media library
Contact us at

E-mail: lernwerkstatt@gedenkstaetten.hamburg.de

Phone: +49 40 428 131 551

Fluchtversuche, Solidarität und Widerstand

Bis kurz vor der Räumung im April 1945 scheiterten alle Fluchtversuche aus dem Hauptlager. Dagegen gelang Häftlingen in Außenlagern mehrfach die Flucht; doch wurden die meisten später gefasst. Mithäftlingen zu helfen war bei Strafe verboten. Trotzdem versuchten Häftlinge, gegen die SS zusammenzuarbeiten und heimlich Hilfsaktionen für besonders Bedürftige zu organisieren, z. B. im Herbst 1941 für die sowjetischen Kriegsgefangenen. Im Krankenrevier bemühten sich Häftlinge, die als Ärzte und Pfleger tätig waren, Hilfe zu leisten. Im Arbeitsdienstbüro versuchten einige Funktionshäftlinge, besonders Bedrohten bessere Arbeitsstellen zu verschaffen.

„Es war unmöglich [zu fliehen]. Ich selbst war zum Beispiel einmal als Glaser in einer Gärtnerei und wurde dort von einem SS-Mann bewacht. Ich sollte in einem Gewächshaus eine Scheibe einsetzen. Der SS-Mann ging weg zu der Frau des Gärtnereibesitzers, um ein wenig mit ihr zu flirten. Ich hätte fliehen können, aber wohin? Für einen Polen in der Nähe von Hamburg war es nahezu unmöglich zu fliehen, denn es gab keine Chance, sich zu retten.“

Tadeusz Kwapinski, ehemaliger polnischer Häftling, war von November 1943 bis Mai 1945 im KZ Neuengamme inhaftiert. Überlebender der „Cap Arcona“. Interview, August 1984.

Acht SS-Männer gehen in Viererreihen die Straße entlang. Jeder von ihnen hat einen Hund an der Leine.

 

 

 

Bleistiftzeichnung von Félix Lazare Bertrand: „La parade des chiens 15.1.45“ („Die Hundeparade“) (ANg). Auf der Rückseite notierte er: „Rückkehr vom Ausflug und Übung für unsere vierbeinige Wache“. Vorn links das Mauerwerk eines Wachturms, dahinter eine Brücke zur Lagerstraße (heute Jean-Dolidier-Weg). Bei Fluchtversuchen stöberten die scharf abgerichteten Hunde Häftlinge in Verstecken auf. Häufig verletzten sie sie, manchmal tödlich.

Félix Lazare Bertrand, ehemaliger französischer Häftling, war von Juli 1944 bis April 1945 im „Prominentenlager“ des KZ Neuengamme inhaftiert (MFB).

virtuelle Ausstellungen

Die Hauptausstellung „Zeitspuren“ sowie die übrigen Ausstellungen der KZ-Gedenkstätte Neuengamme stehen auch in der Mediathek digital zur Verfügung.

zur Mediathek
Kontakt

E-Mail: lernwerkstatt@gedenkstaetten.hamburg.de
Telefon: +49 40 428 131 551