The Clearance of the Main Camp

On 20 April 1945, more than 4,000 Scandinavian prisoners were rescued from the main camp as part of the “White Buses” operation. Immediately afterwards, almost 10,000 prisoners were taken to Lübeck on goods trains. However, the main camp was used as a site for executions until the very last minute. On 21 and 23 April, the SS murdered 58 men and 13 women who had been taken to the Neuengamme camp from Fuhlsbüttel police prison for execution. Twenty children who had been used for “medical” experiments were taken to the cleared Bullenhuser Damm satellite camp in Hamburg and murdered there.While all this was going on, a 700-manstrong work commando had to “clean up” the camp during the last days of April. In a concerted operation, the SS made them cover up the traces of the crimes committed at Neuengamme. All files were burned, the huts were cleaned of dirty straw and vermin, and the flogging trestleand gallows were disposed of. The last prisoners and SS men left the camp on 2 May 1945.

“[…] The Allies are advancing further and further. Outside Bremen and to the east and west of Hanover they’ve reached the Elbe.What’s going to happen to us? All manner of fantastic and contradictory rumours are going around. Will they evacuate us? – There could be nothing more senseless than carrying on with the war. Are they planning to exterminate us? – We all used to think this was likely, now only a few isolated individuals believe this will happen. Will the tanks come rolling in here one day, and will the SS be gone by then? Will we be formally handed over? –Who could answer these questions?”


Entry from the diary of Paul Weissmann, written in May 1945.

The “White Buses” Rescue Operation

In March 1945, all prisoners from Norway and Denmark imprisoned in German concentration camps were taken to Neuengamme. A camp section known as the “Scandinavians’ Camp” was established as Himmler’s concession to the demands of the Vice President of the Swedish Red Cross, Count Folke Bernadotte. Through Bernadotte, Himmler hoped to establish contacts with the British government, with whom he wanted to negotiate acease fire to avert Germany’s unconditional surrender. On 20 April 1945, more than 4,000 Scandinavian prisoners were allowed to leave Neuengamme concentration camp, after some sick prisoners had already been taken to Sweden on the “White Buses”.

Black and white photo of the “White Buses” of the Danish Red Cross at the base camp Friedrichsruh
Media Library

The complete permanent exhibition "Time Traces" and the other side exhibitions on the grounds of the Neuengamme Concentration Camp Memorial are also available digitally in the memorial's media library. Unfortunately, the media library is only available in German.

media library
Contact us at

E-mail: lernwerkstatt@gedenkstaetten.hamburg.de

Phone: +49 40 428 131 551

Die Räumung des Hauptlagers

Das Stammlager, aus dem am 20. April 1945 über 4000 skandinavische Häftlinge mit den „Weißen Bussen“ gerettet und anschließend nahezu 10 000 Häftlinge mit Güterzügen nach Lübeck gebracht wurden, diente bis zuletzt als Hinrichtungsstätte. Am 21. und 23. April ermordete die SS 58 Männer und 13 Frauen, die aus dem Polizeigefängnis Fuhlsbüttel zur Exekution überstellt worden waren. Zwanzig im KZ Neuengamme zu „medizinischen“ Experimenten missbrauchte Kinder wurden zur Ermordung in das geräumte Außenlager Bullenhuser Damm gebracht. Zugleich musste ein ca. 700 Mann starkes Restkommando in den letzten Apriltagen das Lager herrichten. Gezielt ließ die SS die Spuren der Verbrechen verwischen. Die Akten wurden verbrannt, Baracken von Stroh und Unrat gereinigt und Prügelbock und Galgen beseitigt. Die letzten Häftlinge und SS-Leute verließen das Lager am 2. Mai 1945.

„Die Alliierten dringen immer weiter vor. Vor Bremen, östlich und westlich Hannover haben sie die Elbe erreicht. Was wird mit uns geschehen? Die phantastischen und widersprechendsten Gerüchte und Meinungen gehen um. – Wird man uns evakuieren? – Es wäre nichts sinnloser als die Weiterführung des Krieges selbst; wird man uns vernichten? – Früher hielt man es für wahrscheinlich, heute wollen es nur Vereinzelte glauben. Werden eines Tages die Panzer einrollen und die SS verschwunden sein? Wird man uns formell übergeben? – Wer könnte diese Fragen beantworten?“

Tagebuch von Paul Weissmann, abgefasst im Mai 1945.

Rettung mit Hilfe der „Weißen Busse“

Im März 1945 wurde das KZ Neuengamme zum Sammelpunkt für alle in Deutschland inhaftierten norwegischen und dänischen Gefangenen. Die Einrichtung des „Skandinavierlagers“ war ein Zugeständnis des Reichsführers SS an den Vizepräsidenten des Schwedischen Roten Kreuzes, Graf Folke Bernadotte, als Vorleistung für erhoffte Kontakte zur britischen Regierung, mit der Himmler zur Abwendung einer totalen Niederlage einen Waffenstillstand aushandeln wollte. Nachdem schon zuvor Kranke mit den „Weißen Bussen“ nach Schweden transportiert worden waren, konnten am 20. April über 4000 skandinavische Häftlinge das KZ Neuengamme verlassen.

Schwarz-Weiß-Foto der „Weiße Busse“ des Dänischen Roten Kreuzes im Basislager Friedrichsruh
virtuelle Ausstellungen

Die Hauptausstellung „Zeitspuren“ sowie die übrigen Ausstellungen der KZ-Gedenkstätte Neuengamme stehen auch in der Mediathek digital zur Verfügung.

zur Mediathek
Kontakt

E-Mail: lernwerkstatt@gedenkstaetten.hamburg.de
Telefon: +49 40 428 131 551