Death Marches and "Reception Camps"

Death Marches

During the clearances of the camps, the SS crammed between 50 and 100 prisoners into goods carriages. On these transports, which sometimes took over a week, the prisoners were given little or no food and water. Because of damaged tracks or the constantly changing position of the frontlines, the trains were often unable to reach their planned destinations and spent days travelling aimlessly around the network. Many prisoners died of starvation or disease and were buried beside the tracks during breaks in the journey. If a transport by rail was not possible, the prisoners were herded out of the camp on foot. For these torturous marches, which went on for days, the prisoners were given no provisions or suitable footwear, and many of them died as a consequence. Those who collapsed or could not keep up were shot by the guards.

"Reception Camps"

The destination of most transports were the so-called "reception camps". Around 9,000 prisoners were taken to Sandbostel POW camp near Bremervörde. Most of these prisoners came from the Bremen satellite camps, as well as from some of the Hamburg satellite camps, and many sick prisoners from other satellites were also sent there. More than 8,000 prisoners were transported to Bergen-Belsen concentration camp. The main groups represented here were Jewish women, sick prisoners from the maincamp, and prisoners from the satellites in the Hanover region. Around 5,000 prisoners, predominantly from the satellite camps in the Braunschweig and Salzgitter region, ended up in Wöbbelin satellite camp near Ludwigslust. In these three camps, prisoners were simply left to die, with thousands perishing of hunger and disease. Approximately 1,000 prisoners died in Wöbbelin, and around 3,000 in Sandbostel. Many Neuengamme prisoners were among the 25,000 people who died in Bergen- Belsen shortly before and during the first weeks after liberation is unknown. 

Black and white photo showing ten prisoners, some in the striped prisoners' clothing, others with dark jackets. In the center, a younger man, who is smoking a cigarette, supports an older gentleman wearing glasses.
Media Library

The complete permanent exhibition "Time Traces" and the other side exhibitions on the grounds of the Neuengamme Concentration Camp Memorial are also available digitally in the memorial's media library. Unfortunately, the media library is only available in German.

media library
Contact us at

E-mail: lernwerkstatt@gedenkstaetten.hamburg.de

Phone: +49 40 428 131 551

Todesmärsche und Auffanglager

Todesmärsche

Marschierende Frauenfüße. Zeichnung von Ágnes Lukász, ehemalige Gefangene des Außenlagers Salzwedel.

Für die Räumungstransporte setzte die SS Güterwaggons ein, in denen 50 bis 100 Häftlinge oder sogar mehr zusammengedrängt wurden. Ohne oder nur mit wenig Nahrung und Wasser waren manche Transporte länger als eine Woche unterwegs. Aufgrund zerstörter Gleise und des sich ändernden Frontverlaufs konnten die Züge häufig ihre ursprünglichen Zielorte nicht erreichen und fuhren tagelang hin und her. Bei Fahrtpausen wurden die zahlreichen Toten neben den Bahngleisen begraben. War ein Bahntransport nicht möglich, so wurden die Häftlinge zu Fuß aus den Lagern getrieben. Ohne Verpflegung und angemessenes Schuhwerk waren die tagelangen Märsche für die Frauen und Männer eine Qual und bedeuteten häufig ihren Tod. Wer zusammenbrach oder nicht Schritt halten konnte, wurde von den Wachmannschaften erschossen.

Auffanglager

Die meisten Transporte führten in so genannte Auffanglager: Zielort von ca. 9000 Häftlingen, vor allem der meisten Bremer und einiger Hamburger Außenlager sowie von kranken Häftlingen, wurde das Kriegsgefangenenlager Sandbostel bei Bremervörde. Über 8000 Häftlinge, in ihrer Mehrzahl Jüdinnen, aus dem Stammlager abgeschobene Kranke sowie Häftlinge aus dem Raum Hannover, kamen in das KZ Bergen-Belsen. Das Außenlager Wöbbelin bei Ludwigslust wurde zur letzten Station für ca. 5000 Häftlinge vor allem aus den Außenlagern im Raum Braunschweig-Salzgitter. Diese drei Zielorte wurden zu Sterbelagern, in denen Tausende an Hunger und Krankheiten zugrunde gingen: In Wöbbelin starben ca. 1000 und in Sandbostel 3000; wie viele Häftlinge des KZ Neuengamme unter den 25 000 Toten sind, die in Bergen-Belsen kurz vor und in den ersten Wochen nach der Befreiung starben, ist nicht bekannt.

Schwarz-weiß-Foto, auf dem zwölf Häftlinge zu sehen sind, einige in der gestreiften Häftlingskleidung, andere mit dunklen Jacken. In der Mitte stützt ein jüngerer Mann, der eine Zigarette raucht, einen älteren Herren, der eine Brille trägt.
Befreite Häftlinge im Auffanglager Wöbbelin, 2. Mai 1945. Foto: US-Army. In der Mitte der belgische Häftling Marcel Bouckenooghe, der fünf Tage nach seiner Befreiung in der Nacht vom 7. auf den 8. Mai 1945 im Krankenhaus Ludwigslust an den Haftfolgen starb. Aufnahme eines US-amerikanischen Militärfotografen (USHMM, source: NARA, Rg. Sc. 1727, Roll #15; 752).
virtuelle Ausstellungen

Die Hauptausstellung „Zeitspuren“ sowie die übrigen Ausstellungen der KZ-Gedenkstätte Neuengamme stehen auch in der Mediathek digital zur Verfügung.

zur Mediathek
Kontakt

E-Mail: lernwerkstatt@gedenkstaetten.hamburg.de
Telefon: +49 40 428 131 551