The Treatment of Sick and Weak Prisoners

Physical exhaustion led to many diseases among the prisoners, but it was very difficult for sick prisoners to obtain treatment at the sick-bay. There were not enough beds or medication to treat eventhose prisoners who were gravely ill or severly wounded. Licensed doctors among the prisoners were not allowed to work at the sick-bay until late 1941. In 1942/43, prisoners who were ill for a prolonged period of time faced the threat of death by lethal injection. Weakened prisoners from Neuengamme's satellite camps were sometimes transferred back to the main camp when they were no longer fit to work. These prisoners were housed in so-called “convalescence blocks”, where conditions were dreadful and the mortality rate was exceptionally high.

Pencil drawing showing the sick bay and sick prisoners.

 

 

Pencil Drawing by Félix Lazare Bertrand entitled “Lerevier des grands malades” (“The Sick-Bay for theSeriously Ill”) and dated “30.8.44”. The titlerefers to sick-bay 4. View through the open door with some patients in the hallway and two more outside the hut.

The Treatment of Weakened Prisoners

The living and working conditions severely weakened a large number of the prisoners. Sick prisoners who did not recover were singled out and transferred to other camps or were killed with lethal injections. The majority of the “Muselmänner” – the camp term for prisoners who were so emaciated they could no longer work –died of hunger, exhaustion and untreated diseases. From the autumn of 1944 on, Neuengamme main camp gradually became more of a reception camp for the rising number of dying prisoners who were transferred back from satellite camps. Prisoners who were seriously ill, dying or already dead were left lying crammed together in so-called “convalescence blocks” without any treatment, often three or more to one bunk.

The Treatment of Sick Prisoners and Medical Experiments

Most prisoners suffered from gastrointestinal diseases, and many had famine oedemas, tuberculosis, and inflamed wounds or had been maimed. In early 1942, the camp had to be putunder quarantine because of a typhus epidemic. A prisoner’s status in the camp determined how he was treated at the sick-bay. Most prisoners received no medical aid to speak of, and the SS turned away many needy prisoners at the sick-bay. Medicine was scarce, and wounds were dressed with crepe paper. Several patients often had to share one bed. Prisoners who suffered from contagious diseases were not sufficiently isolated. Prisoners who were licensed doctors were not allowed to work at the sick-bay until late 1941. SS doctors carried out medical experiments on prisoners at the sick-bay, infecting them with tuberculosis among other things. Sometimes, however, prisoners working as orderlies were able to protect other, severely harassed, prisoners by admitting them to the sick-bay.

Media Library

The complete permanent exhibition "Time Traces" and the other side exhibitions on the grounds of the Neuengamme Concentration Camp Memorial are also available digitally in the memorial's media library. Unfortunately, the media library is only available in German.

media library
Contact us at

E-mail: lernwerkstatt@gedenkstaetten.hamburg.de

Phone: +49 40 428 131 551

Die Behandlung der Kranken und Geschwächten im Hauptlager

Die körperliche Auszehrung führte zu zahlreichen Krankheiten. Es war für die Häftlinge jedoch schwierig, im Krankenrevier Aufnahme zu finden. Selbst für Schwerkranke und Verletzte standen zu wenige Betten und Medikamente zur Verfügung. Bis Ende 1941 durften inhaftierte Ärzte nicht im Krankenrevier arbeiten. 1942/43 musste jeder, der länger krank war, fürchten, mit Injektionen getötet zu werden. Die stark geschwächten Häftlinge, die die SS wegen Arbeitsunfähigkeit aus den Außenlagern ins Hauptlager zurückverlegte, wurden in „Schonungsblocks“ einquartiert. Dort herrschten grauenvolle Zustände und eine sehr hohe Sterblichkeit.

Umgang mit Geschwächten

Die Lebens- und Arbeitsbedingungen führten dazu, dass ein großer Teil der Häftlinge sehr geschwächt war. Kranke, die sich nicht erholten, wurden ausgesondert und in andere Lager abgeschoben oder durch Injektionen getötet. Die Mehrzahl der „Muselmänner“ – so der Lagerausdruck für die geschwächten, nicht mehr arbeitsfähigen Häftlinge – starb an Hunger, Entkräftung und unbehandelten Erkrankungen. Ab Herbst 1944 entwickelte sich das Hauptlager immer mehr zu einem Sterbelager für die stark ansteigende Zahl der Häftlinge, die arbeitsunfähig aus den Außenlagern zurückgebracht wurden. Schwerkranke, Sterbende und Tote lagen ohne Pflege in „Schonungsblocks“ – oft drei und mehr dicht gedrängt neben- und übereinander in einer Bettstelle. Die meisten Häftlinge litten an Magen- und Darmkrankheiten.

Krankenversorgung und medizinische Experimente

Die meisten Häftlinge litten an Magen-Darm-Erkrankungen, viele an Hungerödemen, Tuberkulose, Wundentzündungen und Verstümmelungen. Anfang 1942 musste das Lager wegen einer Flecktyphusepidemie unter Quarantäne gestellt werden. Wie ein Häftling im Krankenrevier behandelt wurde, hing von seiner Stellung im Lager ab. Für die meisten gab es kaum medizinische Hilfe. Viele Bedürftige wurden von der SS vor dem Revier abgewiesen. Medikamente waren rar. Für Verbände wurde Krepppapier benutzt. Die Betten waren oft mit mehreren Patienten belegt. Ansteckende Kranke wurden nicht ausreichend isoliert. Bis Ende 1941 durften Häftlinge, die von Beruf Arzt waren, nicht im Revier arbeiten. SS-Ärzte führten im Revier Experimente an Häftlingen durch, unter anderem mit Tuberkulose-Bazillen. Manchmal konnten Krankenpfleger besonders drangsalierte Häftlinge aber durch Aufnahme ins Krankenrevier auch schützen.

virtuelle Ausstellungen

Die Hauptausstellung „Zeitspuren“ sowie die übrigen Ausstellungen der KZ-Gedenkstätte Neuengamme stehen auch in der Mediathek digital zur Verfügung.

zur Mediathek
Kontakt

E-Mail: lernwerkstatt@gedenkstaetten.hamburg.de
Telefon: +49 40 428 131 551