Cultural and Resistance Activities – Maintaining the Will to Survive

In their daily struggle for survival, prisoners clung to friendships and relationships in small groups. Intellectual and religious activities helped them to maintain their will to survive,as did the rare opportunities for cultural activities like drawing, woodcarving, talking about literature and reciting poetry or songs. In 1943/44, music, football, and evenings of entertainment were occasionally permitted, but only higher-ranking prisoners were allowed to attend such events. Prisoners could only send or receive a limited amount of letters, and the letters they did receive orsend were read by the camp’s censors.

The black and white photo shows a prisoner showing a British cameraman a radio hidden in an electric meter after liberation.

 

 

Former prisoner Arthur Lange showing a British cameraman a radioreceiver hidden inside an electricitymeter. On this receiver, Langehad covertly listened to Allied radio broadcasts. Still from a film made by the British Army on May 5, 1945.

Self-assertion and cultural activity

Harassment and violence led many prisoners to think only of bare survival. Brutal egoism and tough assertiveness often seemed to be the only way. The experience that despite everything there was also comradeship and solidarity helped many get over difficult situations. The daily struggle for survival left little room for cultural activities. The will to assert oneself was expressed in conversations about the literature and music of the homeland.

Escape Attempts, Solidarity and Resistance

Until the period immediately prior to its evacuation in April 1945, all escape attempts from the main camp had failed. By contrast, prisoners did manage to escape from satellite camps on several occasions, but most of them were recaptured later. Prisoners were forbidden to help each other on pain of punishment. But despite such regulations, prisoners tried to work to get her against the aims of the SS and tried to organise help for especially needy fellow prisoners such as the Soviet POWs who arrived at the camp in the autumn of 1941.

Media Library

The complete permanent exhibition "Time Traces" and the other side exhibitions on the grounds of the Neuengamme Concentration Camp Memorial are also available digitally in the memorial's media library. Unfortunately, the media library is only available in German.

media library
Contact us at

E-mail: lernwerkstatt@gedenkstaetten.hamburg.de

Phone: +49 40 428 131 551

Selbstbehauptung, Kultur und Widerstand

Im täglichen Existenzkampf suchten die Häftlinge Halt in Freundschaften und kleinen Gruppen. Geistige und religiöse Betätigungen waren Zeichen der Selbstbehauptung. Dies galt auch für die wenigen kulturellen Aktivitäten, die manchmal möglich waren, etwa Zeichnen und Schnitzen, Gespräche über Literatur, das Vortragen von Gedichten und Liedern. Auch Musik und Fußball waren 1943/44 zeitweise gestattet, wobei von diesen Angeboten nur besser gestellte Häftlinge Gebrauch machen konnten. Der Empfang und der Versand von Briefen waren nur begrenzt gestattet. Sie unterlagen zudem der Zensur.

Das Schwarz-weiß-Foto zeigt einen Häftling, der nach der Befreiung einem britischen Kameramann ein Radiogerät zeigt, das in einem Stromzähler versteckt ist.

 

 

Der ehemalige Häftling Arthur Lange zeigt einem britischen Kameramann ein Radiogerät, das in einem Stromzähler versteckt ist. Mit diesem Gerät hatte Arthur Lange heimlich ausländische Rundfunksendungen gehört. Bild aus Filmaufnahmen der britischen Armee vom 5. Mai 1945.

Selbstbehauptung und kulturelle Betätigung

Drangsalierungen und Gewalt führten dazu, dass viele Häftlinge nur noch an das nackte Überleben dachten. Brutaler Egoismus und hartes Durchsetzungsvermögen schienen hierfür oft der einzige Weg zu sein. Die Erfahrung, dass es trotz allem auch Kameradschaft und Solidarität gab, half vielen über schwere Situationen hinweg. Für kulturelle Betätigungen ließ der tägliche Überlebenskampf wenig Raum. In Gesprächen über Literatur und Musik des Heimatlandes drückte sich der Wille zur Selbstbehauptung aus.

Fluchtversuche, Solidarität und Widerstand

Bis kurz vor der Räumung im April 1945 scheiterten alle Fluchtversuche aus dem Hauptlager. Häftlingen in Außenlagern gelang mehrfach die Flucht, doch die meisten wurden später gefasst. Trotz Verbots, versuchten Häftlinge gegen die SS zusammenzuarbeiten und heimlich Hilfsaktionen für besonders Bedürftige zu organisieren. Im Krankenrevier bemühten sich Häftlingsärzte und -pfleger, Hilfe zu leisten. Im Arbeitsdienstbüro verschafften einige Funktionshäftlinge Bedrohten bessere Arbeitsstellen.

virtuelle Ausstellungen

Die Hauptausstellung „Zeitspuren“ sowie die übrigen Ausstellungen der KZ-Gedenkstätte Neuengamme stehen auch in der Mediathek digital zur Verfügung.

zur Mediathek
Kontakt

E-Mail: lernwerkstatt@gedenkstaetten.hamburg.de
Telefon: +49 40 428 131 551