Life after Liberation

Survivors experienced their liberation from the concentration camps in different ways. Many of them were in poor health due to the conditions of their imprisonment and had to be treated in hospitals. Those who had been deported to Germany were classified as “Displaced Persons” and put up in special camps before they could be repatriated. But not all of them wanted to go back. Many survivors wanted to emigrate to the USA or to Palestine, and some even wanted to remain in Germany. Both in Germany and in their native countries, former political prisoners formed associations of concentration camp survivors or victims of Nazi persecution and demanded compensation.

Black and white photo of a bus with several passengers. From an open window, a liberated concentration camp prisoner, visibly cheerful, shakes hands with a man standing outside.
Life after Survival

After liberation, the prisoners needed urgently medical care. Many survivors suffered from long-term consequences of concentration camp imprisonment. Many foreign prisoners spent weeks and months in camps for “displaced persons”. Many survivors, especially Jewish survivors, emigrated to Palestine, Canada or the USA.

Persecutees’ Associations

Immediately after their liberation, the first concentration camp survivors formed organisations. In Hamburg, they founded the Committee of Former Political Prisoners. The organisation cared for survivors and demanded compensation for imprisonment, prosecution of the perpetrators, and general denazification. In 1958, the West German section of the Working Group became one of the co-founding bodies of the Amicale Internationale de Neuengamme.

Media Library

The complete permanent exhibition "Time Traces" and the other side exhibitions on the grounds of the Neuengamme Concentration Camp Memorial are also available digitally in the memorial's media library. Unfortunately, the media library is only available in German.

media library
Contact us at

E-mail: lernwerkstatt@gedenkstaetten.hamburg.de

Phone: +49 40 428 131 551

Weiterleben nach der Befreiung

Die Befreiung aus den Konzentrationslagern erfuhren die Überlebenden auf unterschiedliche Weise. Viele von ihnen litten an den Folgen der Haft und wurden in Krankenhäusern versorgt. Bevor die nach Deutschland Verschleppten in ihre Heimatländer zurückkehren konnten, wurden sie zunächst als „Displaced Persons“ in Lagern untergebracht. Nicht alle wünschten jedoch eine Rückkehr: Zahlreiche Überlebende wollten in die USA oder nach Palästina emigrieren, einige aber auch in Deutschland bleiben. Ehemalige politische Häftlinge bildeten in Deutschland und in ihren Heimatländern Lagergemeinschaften und Verfolgtenverbände und forderten Entschädigung.

Schwarz-weiß-Foto, das befreite Häftlinge zeigt, die bei der Ankunft in Dänemark voller Freude Kopf und Hände aus dem Fenster eines Busses stecken, um sie empfangenden Menschen die Hand zu geben.
Leben nach dem Überleben

Nach der Befreiung mussten die Häftlinge medizinisch versorgt werden. Viele Überlebende litten unter Langzeitfolgen der KZ-Haft. Viele ausländische Häftlinge verbrachten Wochen und Monate in Lagern für „Displaced Persons“. Viele Überlebende, vor allem jüdische Überlebende, emigrierten nach Palästina, Kanada oder in die USA.

Verfolgtenverbände

KZ-Überlebende organisierten sich sofort nach ihrer Befreiung – in Hamburg im „Komitee ehemaliger politischer Gefangener“, aus dem die Hamburger „Vereinigung der Verfolgten des Naziregimes“ (VVN) entstand. Sie forderten Entschädigung für die KZ-Haft, Strafverfolgung der Täter und Entnazifizierung. Sie dokumentierten die Verbrechen und führten Gedenkfeiern durch. 1958 gründeten die belgische, französische und deutsche Lagergemeinschaft die „Amicale Internationale de Neuengamme“ (AIN).

virtuelle Ausstellungen

Die Hauptausstellung „Zeitspuren“ sowie die übrigen Ausstellungen der KZ-Gedenkstätte Neuengamme stehen auch in der Mediathek digital zur Verfügung.

zur Mediathek
Kontakt

E-Mail: lernwerkstatt@gedenkstaetten.hamburg.de
Telefon: +49 40 428 131 551