Forms of Commemoration

In the first post-war years, commemorating the victims of the concentration camps was an important political issue. Up to 20,000 people attended the first commemorative ceremonies in Ohlsdorf cemetery in Hamburg. But in 1949, with the onset of the Cold War, party political quarrels started to interfere with this shared practice of remembrance. Survivors and their families had no access to the grounds of the former concentration camp, because the site was being used as a prison. It was not until 1953 that the Hamburg Senate gave in to political pressure from abroad and erected a simple memorial column there.

Abbot Noël Carlotti and another man stand in front of an open barb wire fence gate of Neuengamme concentration camp and look into the camera.

 

 

Canon Noël Carlotti, a member of a French government commission that enquired into the whereabouts of humanashes and the sites of the crematoria. The French section of the Amicale planned to erect a monument there. The picture was taken in May 1951 and comes from Renée Aubry’s private photo album.

Early Forms of Commemoration

In the first post-war years, commemorations took place in the Ohlsdorf cemetery, where the first memorial was unveiled in 1949. In 1953, under pressure from the French government, a memorial was erected on the site of the former camp nursery. The former crematorium site was made accessible and marked in 1970, and the prisoner camp became part of the memorial in 2003. Abroad, trips to the sites of the concentration camps were often understood as pilgrimages.

History of the Commemorative Sites of Neuengamme

The history of Neuengamme memorials includes the creation of the first memorial with its inauguration in 1965, the opening of the Document Building in 1981, and the establishment of the Neuengamme Concentration Camp Memorial in the 2000s. Since the 1980s, memorial sites have been established at former subcamps of Neuengamme Concentration Camp.

The Second and Third Generation

The children of former concentration camp prisoners were shaped in different ways by the experiences of their parents. Various factors play a role in how families deal with this: the reason for imprisonment, the experience of violence and death during imprisonment, and how the mother or father deals with their own history. What they all have in common, however, is that they attach significant importance to their own lives to their mother's or father's experience of imprisonment.

Media Library

The complete permanent exhibition "Time Traces" and the other side exhibitions on the grounds of the Neuengamme Concentration Camp Memorial are also available digitally in the memorial's media library. Unfortunately, the media library is only available in German.

media library
Contact us at

E-mail: lernwerkstatt@gedenkstaetten.hamburg.de

Phone: +49 40 428 131 551

Formen des Erinnerns

Das Gedenken an die Toten der Konzentrationslager war in den ersten Jahren nach der Befreiung ein zentrales politisches Anliegen. An den Gedenkfeiern auf dem Ohlsdorfer Friedhof in Hamburg nahmen bis zu 20.000 Menschen teil. Parteipolitische Auseinandersetzungen im beginnenden Kalten Krieg markierten 1949 den Wendepunkt dieser Gedenkpraxis. Das ehemalige KZ-Gelände war für Überlebende und Angehörige aufgrund der Gefängnisnutzung nicht zugänglich. Nur auf Druck aus dem Ausland zeigte die Stadt Hamburg sich bereit, dort 1953 eine erste schlichte Gedenksäule zu errichten.

Der Abt Noël Carlotti und ein weiterer Mann stehen vor einem offenen Drahtzauntor des KZ Neuengamme und schauen in die Kamera.

 

 

Abbé Noël Carlotti, Mitglied einer französischen Regierungskommission, die den Verbleib der menschlichen Asche und die Standorte der Krematorien ermitteln sollte. Dort plante die französische Amicale die Errichtung eines Denkmals. Die Aufnahme vom Mai 1951 stammt aus dem Fotoalbum von Renée Aubry.

Frühe Formen des Gedenkens

In den ersten Nachkriegsjahren fanden die Gedenkfeiern auf dem Ohlsdorfer Friedhof statt, wo 1949 ein erstes Mahnmal eingeweiht wurde. Auf Druck der französischen Regierung wurde 1953 ein Denkmal auf dem Gelände der ehemaligen Lagergärtnerei errichtet. Der ehemalige Krematoriumsstandort wurde 1970 zugänglich gemacht und gekennzeichnet, das Häftlingslager wurde 2003 Teil der Gedenkstätte. Im Ausland wurden Reisen an die Stätten der Konzentrationslager häufig als Wallfahrten verstanden.

Geschichte der Neuengammer Gedenkorte

Die Geschichte der Neuengammer Gedenkorte umfasst unter anderem die Entstehung des ersten Denkmals mit dessen Einweihung 1965, die Eröffnung des Dokumentenhauses 1981 sowie die Einriuchtung der KZ-Gedenkstätte Neuengamme in den 2000er Jahren. Seit den 1980ern entstanden Erinnerungsorte bei ehemaligen Außenlagern des KZ Neuengamme.

Die zweite und dritte Generation

Die Kinder ehemaliger KZ-Häftlinge wurden durch die Erfahrungen ihrer Eltern auf unterschiedliche Weise geprägt. Für den Umgang damit in den Familien spielen verschiedene Faktoren eine Rolle: der Haftgrund, die Erfahrung von Gewalt und Tod während der Haft oder auch der Umgang der Mutter, bzw. des Vaters mit der eigenen Geschichte. Die Emotionen der Kinder reichen von Glorifizierung bis zu Hass. Gemeinsam ist jedoch allen, dass sie der Hafterfahrung der Mutter oder des Vaters eine maßgebliche Bedeutung für das eigene Leben beimessen.

virtuelle Ausstellungen

Die Hauptausstellung „Zeitspuren“ sowie die übrigen Ausstellungen der KZ-Gedenkstätte Neuengamme stehen auch in der Mediathek digital zur Verfügung.

zur Mediathek
Kontakt

E-Mail: lernwerkstatt@gedenkstaetten.hamburg.de
Telefon: +49 40 428 131 551