The Penal Facilities

After the internment camp was disbanded in 1948, the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg took over the grounds and facilities of the former concentration camp and set up the “Neuengamme Prison for Men“ on the site of the former prisoners’ barracks (the Häftlingslager). In 1950, a new prison building was erected on the site. After decades of campaigning, this correctional facility was finally moved to Billwerder in June 2003. Another prison building was erected on the site of the former clay pits at the end of the 1960s. It was in use from 1970, first as a juvenile detention centre and later as a regular penal facility. In February 2005, the Hamburg Justice Authority announced its plans to have this prison also closed by the end of the same year.

Penal Facility XII

In February 1948, 40 prisoners and 8 prison officers moved into the former brickworks and began clearance and repair work. On 6 September of the same year, the “Neuengamme Prison for  Men, Facility No. XII” was ceremonially opened on the site of the former prisoners’ barracks. This semi-open prison was later to become an open prison and was considered a prime example of the liberal penal system in Hamburg. Initially, the prison held only men, but in 1995 a section for women prisoners was added. The prison officers initially lived in the former SS barracks, but in 1953 new houses were built for them in the northern part of the camp. In the course of the 1980s, new prison buildings were added to the cell blocks erected in 1949/1950 on the site of the former prisoners’ barracks.

Penal Facility IX

As early as 1955, Hamburg City Council was planning new prison buildings in the immediate vicinity of the former concentration camp grounds. According to their plans, which were eventually abandoned at the end of the 1950s, Fuhlsbüttel prison was to be disbanded and up to 700 prisoners were to be transferred to a newly built facility south of the “Neuengamme Prison for Men”. Instead, the Council built the “Vierlande Juvenile Detention Centre” north of the prison for men, where 300 young people were held, both on remand and in normal detention. In the early 1990s, all young offenders were transferred to Hahnöfersand prison. From then on, the facility housed adult male offenders serving prison sentences. On 28 February 2005, the Hamburg Justice Authority announced its decision to close the Vierlande Penal Facility entirely. The authority cited the council’s “responsibility towards the victims and their relatives” as one of the reasons for making this decision.

A photo of two signposts, one on top of the other. The upper one says: "Neuengamme Concentration Camp Memorial", the lower one says "Vierlande Correctional Facilities".
Media Library

The complete permanent exhibition "Time Traces" and the other side exhibitions on the grounds of the Neuengamme Concentration Camp Memorial are also available digitally in the memorial's media library. Unfortunately, the media library is only available in German.

media library
Contact us at

E-mail: lernwerkstatt@gedenkstaetten.hamburg.de

Phone: +49 40 428 131 551

Die Justizvollzugsanstalten

Nach der Auflösung des Internierungslagers im Jahr 1948 übernahm die Freie und Hansestadt Hamburg Gelände und Gebäude des ehemaligen Konzentrationslagers. Im Bereich des ehemaligen Häftlingslagers wurde das „Männergefängnis Neuengamme“ eingerichtet, für das 1950 auch ein Gefängnisneubau entstand. Diese Justizvollzugsanstalt ist nach jahrzehntelangen Auseinandersetzungen im Juni 2003 nach Billwerder verlegt worden. Auf den ehemaligen Tongruben wurde Ende der 1960er-Jahre ein weiterer Gefängnisneubau errichtet, der seit 1970 erst als Jugendanstalt, dann als Justizvollzugsanstalt genutzt wurde. Im Februar 2005 kündigte die Hamburger Justizbehörde auch die Schließung dieses Gefängnisses bis zum Jahresende 2005 an.

Die Justizvollzugsanstalt XII

Im Februar 1948 bezogen 40 Gefangene und acht Beamte das Klinkerwerk und begannen mit Aufräum- und Reparaturarbeiten. Am 6. September des Jahres wurde dann auf dem Gelände des ehemaligen Häftlingslagers das „Männergefängnis Neuengamme Anstalt XII“ in festlicher Form eröffnet. Die halb offene, später offene Justizvollzugsanstalt galt als beispielhaft für den liberalen Strafvollzug in Hamburg. Untergebracht waren zunächst erwachsene Männer, ab 1995 gab es auch eine Abteilung für Frauen. Die Justizvollzugsbeamten waren anfangs im ehemaligen SS-Lager untergebracht, 1953 wurde für sie eine eigene Siedlung im nördlichen Lagerbereich fertig gestellt. Zu dem 1949/50 im Bereich des ehemaligen Häftlingslagers errichteten Zellenbau kamen im Lauf der 1980er-Jahre weitere Neubauten hinzu.

Die Justizvollzugsanstalt IX

Bereits 1955 plante die Stadt Hamburg einen Gefängnisneubau in unmittelbarer Nähe des ehemaligen Lagergeländes. Das Zuchthaus Fuhlsbüttel sollte aufgelöst und bis zu 700 Gefangene sollten in einer neu errichteten Anlage südlich des „Männergefängnisses Neuengamme“ untergebracht werden. Dieser Plan wurde Ende der 1950er-Jahre aufgegeben. Stattdessen wurde nördlich des „Männergefängnisses Neuengamme“ die „Jugendanstalt Vierlande“ errichtet. Hier waren 300 jugendliche Untersuchungshaft- und Strafgefangene untergebracht, bis Anfang der 1990er-Jahre der gesamte Jugendstrafvollzug nach Hahnöfersand verlegt wurde. Seitdem verbüßten dort erwachsene Männer ihre Freiheitsstrafen. Die „historische Verantwortung gegenüber den Opfern und ihren Hinterbliebenen“ war einer der Gründe für den am 28. Februar 2005 bekannt gegebenen Beschluss der Justizbehörde, die „Justizvollzugsanstalt Vierlande“ komplett zu schließen.

Zwei übereinander angebrachte Wegweiser. Auf dem oberen steht: „KZ-Gedenkstätte Neuengamme“, auf dem unteren steht „Vollzugsanstalten Vierlande“.
virtuelle Ausstellungen

Die Hauptausstellung „Zeitspuren“ sowie die übrigen Ausstellungen der KZ-Gedenkstätte Neuengamme stehen auch in der Mediathek digital zur Verfügung.

zur Mediathek
Kontakt

E-Mail: lernwerkstatt@gedenkstaetten.hamburg.de
Telefon: +49 40 428 131 551